Planning for lunch DownUnder

This has turned out to be much more interesting that I thought it would be. Yes, we’ll have vegemite sandwiches and fairy bread (both on white bread, of course), and party pies to keep the kids happy, but there are so many great things to try.

While browsing through some of my Gourmet Traveller magazines this morning, I found a Kylie Kwong recipe for Wallaby sang choi bau. Gotta try that one!!!

But with kangaroo and emu already on the menu, and now wallaby, sourcing good quality game meats could be problematical. Until I found Yarra Valley Game Meats. Ken was fabulous, and I came away with exactly what I needed.

So, apart from the kids’s food, the protein for our lunch will be:

  • emu kebabs
  • kangaroo kofta with warrigal greens (not too sure where to get those babies!), beetroot and fetta
  • wallaby sang choi bau
  • chicken parmigiana – Rob tells me that only Aussies do chicken parma, so this is a great option for people like me who are very unadventurous about trying non-standard protein (I am still more than a tad traumatised by being tricked into eating my pet duck when I was a child).

Being the good Aussies that we are we really should have lamingtons but,  not being much of a cake lover, lamingtons do not inspire me very much. But lamingtons in a tiramisu sound yum. So we’ll have lamington tiramisu with our tim tam and raspberry tarts.

And perhaps we could finish off with some good King Island cheeses.

And booze. What type of booze will we have? Much as John Elliot wanted to foster-ise the world, and the ads are still fairly common in the UK, I do not know anyone who drinks Fosters. Bundy rum is an obvious choice, but it is a very strong flavour.

I think that the feature Aussie tipple for the day will be a North Shore cocktail. We had these on the cruise. We had a  lot of them, actually. Assuming that it is named after Sydney’s north shore, it is a good Aussie choice. They comprise blue curacao, bacardi, coconut milk and pineapple juice. And they’re very blue. And very easy to drink.

And it’s off to Uncle Dan’s we go.

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Planning for lunch DownUnder

Leave a Reply

