Fasten your seat belts for the descent into Egypt

Egypt flagHello Egypt. Land of the pyramids, the Nile and the oh-so-scrumptious Omar Sharif. Love Omar Sharif!!!

We’ve had to play around with dates for our lunch in Egypt. The last Sunday is 24 September, but Lauren and Will are away that weekend, so we’ll have lunch in Egypt this coming Sunday – 17 September.

I have to admit to being, at first glance, a little disappointed about Egyptian cuisine. I’ve never been there, so didn’t know what to expect, but there is nothing out of the ordinary as far as ingredients are concerned. Probably the most exotic ingredient I need to source is sumac, which is, I suspect, fairly easily obtained at the local Coles or Woolies.

But to put it into perspective, the ingredients for Morocco and Greece were not difficult to obtain, and they were absolutely amazing meals. Fingers crossed for Egypt!

Our Egyptian feast will comprise dukkah (of course), maneesh (Paul Hollywood’s recipe), lentil soup, koshari, spiced prawns (I hope the Australian prawns have got over their white-spot epidemic, or whatever it was they they had), fattoush, falafel cakes, om ali and rose leaves. Actually, when I say those words quickly and all in a row, it does sound quite exotic, doesn’t it?

Contrary to my usual style, I have not researched what our accompanying drinks should be. The Dan Murphy’s web site tells me that they have Egyptian wine, but it’s close to $100 a bottle. Um. No thanks. Maybe there are some Cleopatra or pyramid cocktails out there somewhere.

My friend Jan is coming, as is Leonie, who is a school-friend mum of Lauren’s. Leonie is a very smart operator, and has arranged for her husband and daughter to be somewhere else on Sunday afternoon, so she can enjoy an Egyptian feast solo. She can also walk home from my place. It’s an all-round win-win.

The Egyptian factsheet and place mat are attached. I think it’s my turn to do the quiz this time. They say there’s no rest for the wicked …

Factsheet_Egypt

Place-mat_Egypt

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

